Split and Dalmatia County

Contact person: Martin Bućan
tel. +38 21400072 - fax. +38 21400085
e-mail:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Website: www.dalmacija.hr

Split-Dalmatian County, being one of the largest counties in Croatia, occupies central position of the Croatian South. Having both the historical significance and the cultural relevance, combined with the mild climate, it is geographically attractive and impacts very much the development of the general surroundings and the adjacent areas.

Split-Dalmatian county covers the surface of 14.106,40 km2 , of which 9.576,40 km2 accounts for the maritime surface, whereas the land surface extends on 4.523,64 km2 (8% of the total surface of Croatia). According to the population census dated in 2011, the total number of inhabitants in the County is 454.798, of which 350.671 inhabitants live in cities, and 104.127 inhabitants live in municipalities.

Three areas in the County are particularly diverse, thus interesting, differing as per its geographical features, position, development and environmental issues:

-    Hinterland is characterized by vast spaces, with continental climate, features of soil, and geological features;
-    Littoral area – narrow border strip with the average width of 5 km, closed by mountains of Svilaja, Kozjak, Mosor, Biokovo and the sea area;  
-    Insular area -  Eastern area of the County, comprising 74 islands, 57 rocks and reefs, characterized by Mediterranean climate and smooth relief.

The County borders with the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina to the North, with the County of Dubrovnik-Neretva to the East, with the Šibenik-Knin County to the West, whereas to the South it extends to the territorial sea waters of the Republic of Croatia.

The County is divided in 55 self-administration units, of which 16 cities and towns and 39 municipalities. The City of Split is the regional center, with almost all regional and macroregional prerequisites. Important sub-regional function is attributed also to the towns and adjacent areas of Sinj, Imotski, Vrgorac, Makarska and insular centers.